Problem: When a site collection has been deleted, it shows as restorable from the last recovery point (preceding deletion) in Data Protection Manager. The restore completes with no indication of a problem. However, when you attempt to access the site collection, the top level URL results in an error stating the IIS version, and Connection Closed. Attempts to hit a known page further down the hierarchy will result in a 404 error.
It appears that the DPM restore does not correctly re-create the site collection if it has been deleted.
- In Central Admin create a new site collection with the same name and URL as the old Site Collection
- don't worry about permissions and templates, these will be restored
- if you don’t have the URL, it’s available in the DPM recovery console for the restore point you’re using