Monday, January 17, 2011

How to Move a Server to a Different Group in DPM 2010

Quick Description:  DPM doesn't provide an obvious mechanism for moving an object from one protection group to another.


Problem:  There are many reasons you might want to move an object into a different protection group in DPM.  For example, if you have a database in a protection group that allows for 5 days online retention, but the requirement changes to 10 days for that database only.  An application changes groups and the objects protected by DPM need to be grouped differently to reflect that change (even just for the sake of clarity).  You've moved a protection group from its original DPM server to the Disaster Protection DPM server by switching disaster protection, and now want to put it in its own group with it's own retention and backup policy.

Solution:  To do this you need to stop protecting the member, and then create a new protection group (or modify an existing one), and re-import the inactive protection into the new group.

Remove the items from the existing group
  • Select the item to be moved in the protection console and right click it.
  • Select "Stop Protection of Member" from the drop down menu.
  • In the Remove from Group screen, verify that Delete Replica on Disk is NOT checked
    • Verify it again, it's important.  If you leave it checked you will lose your existing data
  • Select Okay
  • rinse and repeat as necessary for the items you want to remove.
Re-Add or Create a New Protection Group
  • In the Protection console, either select the group into which you want to move the inactive items, or select Create Protection Group.
  • Select your protection group type
  • In the Select Group Members screen, expand and select the items you want to protect, then click next
  • In the Select Data Protection Method screen, provide a group name, and select the type of protection you want (in this case, disk only).
  • In the Specify Short Term Goals screen, provide values for Retention Range, Synchronization Frequency, and a time for the Express Full Backup
  • In the Review Disk Allocation screen, review the suggested data size, and make any adjustments necessary.  Decide whether storage should be co-located, and whether the volumes should automatically grow.
  • In the Choose Replication Method section select whether DPM should replicate now, later, or manually.
  • In the Consistency Check Options screen select you preferences
  • In the Summary screen, verify the details and select Create Group
  • You may get a message that the action will initiate a consistency check.  This is expected.

5 comments:

  1. I have followed the steps above and have been able to "move" the server - BUT - DPM has created a NEW backup volume to store the server in rather than use the existing (old) volume - which has duplicated vhd's and backup partitions and is NOT reusing existing data. Is this correct behavior - it is not very disk space efficient!

    matt

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Matt, that's a great question, I'll test it and let you know what I see. Our disks are a couple of TB each, and as you know, DPM loves to proliferate volumes, so I didn't notice that when I did my testing. I just saw it give the space back. Are you using DPM 2010?

    ReplyDelete
  3. If the original data source was co-located (SQL, Hyper-V, or Client protection) - when you remove it from protection and re-protect it, DPM will NOT re-use the original volumes. It will create new volumes, so plan for that.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks "Anonymous with the useful information," that makes a lot of sense.

    ReplyDelete